Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Literary Arts and Book Reviews

Love to read? Here are some books recommened and reviewed by our readers.

If you want to write a review of a book that impressed you enough to pass along - please send us your review. Thanks for READING!

Sort by Date
2019-01-06Jan 6, 2019

I love this book, it is an extended “Beautiful poem of longing”. I do recommend listening to the book especially since it is Patti herself reading it and it was a Grammy Award Nominee for Best Spoken Word Album in 2017. I was mesmerized by her East Coast Accent and deep raspy voice. Patti takes us along her solitary life full of deep subtle melancholic meanderings abundant in wisdom and humor. She’s deeply sad over her  irremediable loss of her life partner, Fred Sonic Smith.  I believe, In dark times it is art that saves humanity, and listening to /reading Patti gave me hope.

2018-12-21Dec 21, 2018

Oftentimes we hear the phrase, "Buy Local". Perhaps we should also abide by the suggestion, "Read Local" as well. Marlene Cullen of Petaluma and her group of writers have produced yet another collection of mini-stories, vignettes and poems in her Write Spot series. The first book was entitled Discoveries, the second Connections and the third of the trilogy is entitled Reflections. Michael Browne's second most recent publication is Pentimento which literally, means a scratching below the surface.

2018-11-17Nov 17, 2018
2018-10-24Oct 24, 2018

Not being a fan of Donald Trump long before he ever ran for president nor a devotee of reality TV, I had never seen The Apprentice. But I had heard of Omarosa. If nothing else her reputation was that she was a shrew, a vixen, and a newly generated group of people who are famous for being famous like the Kardashians. Omarosa Manigault Newman’s book is almost passé now because it was released delineating the weirdness emanating from Pennsylvania Ave. 

2018-10-06Oct 6, 2018

For one thing, Cliché’s have a certain “commonality” that can instantly unify us – or move us apart!  (Depending upon the cliché, of course!) Time flies – can’t believe the year is almost over!  Surely, we can hear each other chiming in on that one as summer ends, the leaves begin to turn and the tree nuts fall.  It’s easy to agree time moves fast – and relentlessly, cliché notwithstanding.

2018-09-28Sep 28, 2018

The book begins with a prologue featuring an Asian family coming in from the rain with their unruly children to a ritzy hotel and requesting lodging. They are snubbed by the snooty hotel clerk whereupon they just buy the place. The tone has been set.

2018-08-30Aug 30, 2018

It has been the season of pink sunshine here in Geyserville and the rest of northern Sonoma County and beyond—which sounds so cheery. Unfortunately, it’s what I notice when look at the mix of sunlight and shadows on the ground when there is either visible or invisible smoke lingering in the air, which has been the case for weeks now.

2018-08-19Aug 19, 2018

Janelle Hanchett, author of I’m Just Happy To Be Here, is a wonderful writer. She can be sassy and sarcastic without sacrificing poignancy. I would like to take credit for her talent and her articulate expression as I was her high school English teacher. But, I can’t. She was a natural.

2018-07-29Jul 29, 2018

David Hogg and his sister Lauren lived through the horrible shooting at their high school, Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School. They take turns in their book,#Never Again, describing what they experienced and how they’ve become activists in the aftermath, especially David. But the book describes their personal developmental process before and because of this horrible tragedy.

 

Please support our sponsors:

Order Bees Now from BeeKind
Cloverdale Performing Arts Center - The Scion
Cloverdale Performing Arts Center - Delphi Trio

COMING IN MARCH - the Gazette's 2019 Guide to LOCALLY-OWNED Garden Businesses with articles on growing beautiful, earth-friendly gardens

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services
Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!