Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Literary Arts and Book Reviews

Love to read? Here are some books recommened and reviewed by our readers.

If you want to write a review of a book that impressed you enough to pass along - please send us your review. Thanks for READING!

Submit an ARTICLE

Sort by Date
2019-03-06Mar 6, 2019
2019-02-21Feb 21, 2019

Michelle Obama is the most admired woman in America and her autobiography, Becoming, is number one on the New York Times Best Seller List. The book is truly an autobiography not a memoir because it is a chronological narrative beginning with her childhood and bringing us up to the present. We learn of her parents' struggle, her grammar school, her relatives and her father's battle with terminal illness.

2019-01-21Jan 21, 2019

Two books about the lives of two men landed on my desk both written by local authors. One man was disposable, the other was on the fringe. Both contained an exceptionally strong Jewish presence. The first is a novel appropriately named Disposable Man and is a reminiscence of Max Krumm who might be the alter ego of the author, Michael Levitin. The second is called Living on the Fringe and it is a memoir by Abraham Entin.

2019-01-06Jan 6, 2019

I love this book, it is an extended “Beautiful poem of longing”. I do recommend listening to the book especially since it is Patti herself reading it and it was a Grammy Award Nominee for Best Spoken Word Album in 2017. I was mesmerized by her East Coast Accent and deep raspy voice. Patti takes us along her solitary life full of deep subtle melancholic meanderings abundant in wisdom and humor. She’s deeply sad over her  irremediable loss of her life partner, Fred Sonic Smith.  I believe, In dark times it is art that saves humanity, and listening to /reading Patti gave me hope.

2018-12-21Dec 21, 2018

Oftentimes we hear the phrase, "Buy Local". Perhaps we should also abide by the suggestion, "Read Local" as well. Marlene Cullen of Petaluma and her group of writers have produced yet another collection of mini-stories, vignettes and poems in her Write Spot series. The first book was entitled Discoveries, the second Connections and the third of the trilogy is entitled Reflections. Michael Browne's second most recent publication is Pentimento which literally, means a scratching below the surface.

2018-11-17Nov 17, 2018
2018-10-24Oct 24, 2018

Not being a fan of Donald Trump long before he ever ran for president nor a devotee of reality TV, I had never seen The Apprentice. But I had heard of Omarosa. If nothing else her reputation was that she was a shrew, a vixen, and a newly generated group of people who are famous for being famous like the Kardashians. Omarosa Manigault Newman’s book is almost passé now because it was released delineating the weirdness emanating from Pennsylvania Ave. 

2018-10-06Oct 6, 2018

For one thing, Cliché’s have a certain “commonality” that can instantly unify us – or move us apart!  (Depending upon the cliché, of course!) Time flies – can’t believe the year is almost over!  Surely, we can hear each other chiming in on that one as summer ends, the leaves begin to turn and the tree nuts fall.  It’s easy to agree time moves fast – and relentlessly, cliché notwithstanding.

Please support our sponsors:

Your Pets Market in Sebastopol and Cotati, Sonoma County, CA
Order Bees Now from BeeKind
http://online.flipbuilder.com/opcf/gqtx/#p=1

Your GUIDE to support locally-owned garden businesses and natural landscaping practices.

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services

Visit Fine Tree Care WEBSITE for a List of our SERVICES - Testimonials and to request a FREE Estimate

Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!