Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Op-Ed Opinion Essay

We encourage you to let our readers know what's On Your Mind. Your OPINION is valuable to us. The only thing we ask is that it be CONstructive...not DEstructive. We want what BUILDS community, dialogue, and conversation that brings us closer to understanding each other and our varied perspectives. Please send your OPINIONS to vesta@sonic.net

Submit an ARTICLE

Sort by Date
2019-04-05Apr 5, 2019

Have you ever thought of preserving your family history? Do you wish you'd asked your parents more about their life? Do you want to leave a record of your life experiences for your family, grandchildren and great grandchildren? Do you want to meet an interesting group of men and women who have decided to do just that? Then you should consider joining our class.

2019-03-06Mar 6, 2019

It seems every day brings a new spate of federal, state, hospital and clinic restrictions on the opioids needed by millions of chronic pain patients to be functional human beings. Some are seeing their doses cut back. Others are cut off completely.

2019-02-01Feb 1, 2019

I feel it’s important for people to be informed. I am quite aware of how conservative news outlets report the Women’s Marches as “anti-abortion protests”... “the election”..or “women’s rights.” Its easy enough to criticize & say “what rights have you lost?” It’s not about “lost rights.”

2018-12-03Dec 3, 2018

A recent application for a large commercial cannabis grow and processing facility adjacent to Graton homes and the West County Trail has put a spotlight on the county’s evolving cannabis regulations.

2018-11-03Nov 3, 2018

Many concerns have been shared by the community in regards to the harmonious setting of the two properties recently sold along theWest County Trail. This space is currently zoned for agriculture and for myself, as a naturalist, is where my concern resides

2018-11-03Nov 3, 2018

Anger. Fear. Exhaustion. Jubilation. Relief. A strong desire to rebuild, restore, strengthen, and protect. We who endured the massive wildfires here in Northern California a year ago are still experiencing all of these feelings, and more. As are many of us across the entire nation, in response to what I’ll summarize here as political events during the past 18 to 24 months.

2018-11-02Nov 2, 2018

Across Britain in the 18th and 19th centuries, funerals would be graced by a stranger providing one last chance at savings the deceased’s soul. Bread or other simple food would be placed on the corpse, to absorb sin from its flesh, and then it would be consumed by the willing sin eater.

2018-11-01Nov 1, 2018

As people begin to live longer, financial planning will become even more important. Many customers have told me that these home loans just aren’t right for them, but the reality is that they can be a major financial windfall for seniors in multiple situations.

2019-04-05Apr 5, 2019

Last year, China tightened its regulations on the kinds of recycled goods it accepts. As a result, a lot of our recycling will be turned away from recycling facilities and added to landfills. With that in mind, let's review our local recycling regulations!

2019-04-05Apr 5, 2019

A flood victim reflects on abruptly hearing that she would need to completely empty her home immediately. Now.

2019-04-04Apr 4, 2019

On April 16, the Board of Supervisors will decide whether to direct Permit Sonoma to address the severe compatibility problems with cannabis cultivation in rural neighborhoods. In order to solve this contentious question, the supervisors need to acknowledge the fundamental problem.

2019-04-04Apr 4, 2019

It was refreshing to see newspaper items in March concerning Rep. Ilhan Omar and the nationwide dialogue she has started over basic justice issues in the Israeli-Palestine conflict that has gone on for over seven decades. However, the conservation in the national media missed a few crucial points.

2019-04-04Apr 4, 2019

Two new proposed gas stations in the county have raised concerns about the environmental impact of the stations.  

2019-03-23Mar 23, 2019

On March 6th, as Chair of Russian River Watershed Protection Committee, I received an email and pictures from one of our supporters and a resident of the Vacation Beach area, expressing her concern about a raw sewage spill near her house (close to the Vacation Beach Pump Station).

2019-03-21Mar 21, 2019

UPDATE: The Marathon has been postponed for now. Representatives from the marathon will be at the meeting on Sunday, March 31st as planned.

The 13.8-mile marathon, has not met with local praise and support because the plan disrupts the only road for access to residences and businesses at the tail end of tourist season. The original plan called for shutting off the entire highway and that has been revised to closing sections at a time as the runners make their way down the coast.

2019-03-06Mar 6, 2019

According to early results of the March 5 special election, voters in the Palm Drive Health Care District resoundingly passed Measure A. It is important to be clear on what precisely voters approved. In the District's haste to call the special election, I am afraid the process was bungled, resulting in widespread confusion about what was being voted on - whether Resolution 18-10, passed unanimously by the District Board on December 7, or Resolution 19-01, adopted on a 4-1 vote of the District Board on February 4. 

Please support our sponsors:

Eco-Friendly Garden Tour

This FREE self-guided tour will be held Saturday, May 4th. REGISTRATION IS REQUIRED

Cloverdale Performing Arts Center - Of Mice and Men

5/4,5,11,12,18,19. Mild adult themes.
Students $12 - Adults $25.
Tickets:cloverdaleperformingarts.com
707-894-3222, or at the door if available.

Order Bees Now from BeeKind
Earth Day ON STAGE Courthouse Square April 27, 2019
http://online.flipbuilder.com/opcf/gqtx/#p=1

Your GUIDE to support locally-owned garden businesses and natural landscaping practices.

Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services

Visit Fine Tree Care WEBSITE for a List of our SERVICES - Testimonials and to request a FREE Estimate

Locally-Owned Jewelry Businesses in Sonoma County

Find Goldsmiths and Jewelers who create custom designs, offer jewelry repair, estate appraisals, and gems.

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!