Advertise
Free Compliments of our Advertisers
Sonoma County Gazette
Deadlines
Subscribe
Menu

Op-Ed Opinion Essay

We encourage you to let our readers know what's On Your Mind. Your OPINION is valuable to us. The only thing we ask is that it be CONstructive...not DEstructive. We want what BUILDS community, dialogue, and conversation that brings us closer to understanding each other and our varied perspectives. Please send your OPINIONS to vesta@sonic.net

Sort by Date
2018-06-27Jun 27, 2018

The Press Democrat published an article on June 3 of their cannabis poll results from 500 county voters; three questions asked about cannabis safety, grow location, and crime.

2018-04-17Apr 17, 2018

As Realtors in the Russian River Region, we have been following the upcoming changes to septic regulations which will affect approximately 45,000 residents of Sonoma County, many of whom will not know what hit them. Even some of the Supervisors, whose constituents will be affected, seem unaware that they are about to vote on new regulations which could easily result in future condemnation of homes as well as the excessive cost for upgrades for many homeowners throughout the county. We support clean water and the environment, but burdening homeowners is not the answer.

2018-03-31Mar 31, 2018

The sound of gun shots filling the air doesn’t sound like a more peaceful Sonoma to me. And the proposal to shoot beautiful birds while drinking plenty of expensive wine seems bloody sad in Sonoma region.

 

2018-03-30Mar 30, 2018

Verizon and other telecommunications corporations have applied to several Sonoma County cities and the Sonoma County approval to install new 4GClose Proximity Microwave Radiation Antennas (CPMRA) near homes.

2018-03-30Mar 30, 2018

Recent news that Sonoma County’s overall health ranking has fallen to No. 7 in the state, down two places from last year in a state-wide health survey, should concern us all. More alarming was the Sonoma County Department of Health Services’ January 2018 report noting that our childhood cancer rate is the 4th highest in California and that cancer is the leading cause of death in all age groups.

2018-03-28Mar 28, 2018

The decision on WHERE cannabis can be grown has only partly been decided as Sonoma County enters into farming and selling this now legal crop in California. People who voted to make this beneficial plant legal so that it can be grown for fiber, medicinal solutions, as well as recreational use, are afraid of WHERE this crop will be grown The ease of stealing and selling it attracts criminals and has caused death to innocent people living near grows.

2018-02-27Feb 27, 2018

Six limited liability companies (LLCs) have applied for permits to grow cannabis within the Bennett Valley Area Plan. The well-funded promoters of the marijuana industry told the Board of Supervisors in late 2016 that most applicants for permits under the Sonoma County Cannabis Land Use Ordinance would be “mom and pop” farmers who have been growing cannabis for years.

2018-02-27Feb 27, 2018

Six limited liability companies (LLCs) have applied for permits to grow cannabis within the Bennett Valley Area Plan. The well-funded promoters of the marijuana industry told the Board of Supervisors in late 2016 that most applicants for permits under the Sonoma County Cannabis Land Use Ordinance would be “mom and pop” farmers who have been growing cannabis for years.

2018-06-27Jun 27, 2018

Humans are well aware of the imminent effects of climate change. In fact, drought-like conditions and extended fire seasons will be our new-normal due to the sheer amount of human-related greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. However, one variable of the climate change equation that is not well known among the general population is the effect of livestock on the production of greenhouse gasses.

2018-06-27Jun 27, 2018

Carol Benfell wrote an excellent summary of how some local people in Sonoma County worked hard to conserve some beautiful natural surroundings we are blessed to have here. We need to keep in mind vigilance is necessary if we are going to be able protect our lovely area from an onslaught of development in the future.

2018-06-01Jun 1, 2018

Most Americans know that a white racist assassinated Martin Luther King Jr. in Memphis, Tennessee on April 4,1968 – fifty years ago. But few understand the historical context and why King was in Memphis.

2018-05-30May 30, 2018

I am Branch Wroth’s mother, Marni Wroth. I’m could not accept your invitation for a chit-chat before you released a statement to the press. I wish I had faith enough in our system to think that the press release would be objective and fair. Instead, it follows the pattern I have seen many times over: the report vilifies the victim of a police shooting, in this instance my son, with no understanding of who he was.

2018-05-30May 30, 2018

Humans are well aware of the imminent effects of climate change. In fact, drought-like conditions and extended fire seasons will be our new-normal due to the sheer amount of human-related greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. However, one variable of the climate change equation that is not well known among the general population is the effect of livestock on the production of greenhouse gasses. 

2018-05-08May 8, 2018

For the past 20 plus years, I have been keeping track of the law enforcement-related deaths that occur here in Sonoma County. It shocks many people to learn that I have counted 99 such deaths so far. Most of these incidents garner only one article in the local paper and are soon forgotten. A few particularly egregious cases seem to hold the public's attention for longer. I am thinking of the deaths of Jeremiah Chass, age 16, and Andy Lopez, age 14. Both teens were shot and killed by officers from our local Sheriff's Department within seconds or minutes of deputies' arrival on the scene. Our local daily paper has never summarized these 20 years of deaths - that seems to be my task.

2018-05-01May 1, 2018

Sonoma County is facing seemingly insurmountable Budget issues, in part, resulting from the horrendous fires last fall. Everything has been expensive, from fire fighting to cleanup and recovery.

The question now is: “How does the County move forward in coping with the immense budget disparity?”

2018-05-01May 1, 2018

pproving Verizon’s application is the veritable nose of the camel under the tent. It would mean that colocation of cellphone towers would occur without any further review and Sebastopol could no longer deny the future applications of other telecom companies wanting to install 4G towers throughout the city. 

Please support our sponsors:

Bike Partner.net Logo

Call 855-483-3732 to find out about Folding, Cargo & BionX Bikes. Perfect for a SMART Train Ride!

Cotati Accordion Festival 2018
BeeKind of Sebastopol
Fine Tree Care - Sonoma County Tree Services
Sonoma County Ice Cream and Frozen Dessert Shops LOCAL Guide 2018

Sonoma County Ice Cream and Frozen Dessert LOCAL Shops Guide 2018

Sonoma County Gazette GUIDE to Swimming Pools - Rivers - Lakes - Boat Rentals

Sonoma County Gazette GUIDE to Swimming Pools - Rivers - Lakes - Boat Rentals

Sonoma County Bicycle Shops and Groups

Sonoma County Bike Shops and Groups. Find LOCALLY-OWNED Bicycle Shops for NEW, Used and Rental Bicycles as well as REPAIR. Look for a bike-riding group that suits your needs and style.


Please use the Gazette's Guide to find LOCALLY-OWNED Garden Businesses to support Sonoma County's environmental and economic health and vitality.

Flower Shops and Florists of Sonoma County

Please support locally-owned businesses and tell them the Gazette sent you - THANK YOU!